Asian News Makers
ANM News India Politics

India Election 2024: Biggest exercise for democracy begins with first phase witnessing 64% votes

ANM Desk

India Election 2024: The world’s largest democracy, India, has commenced its grand festival of elections with the commencement of the first phase of voting for the 18th Lok Sabha elections.
This initial phase encompassed 102 parliamentary constituencies across 21 states and Union Territories. According to the Election Commission of India (ECI), nearly 64% of eligible voters participated in this phase, marking a significant turnout.
Among the states, Tripura in the northeastern region saw the highest turnout with over 80% of its citizens casting their votes.
Conversely, Bihar experienced the lowest voter turnout, with fewer than 49% of eligible voters casting their ballots at the polling stations.
Tamil Nadu held a single-day election, recording a voting percentage of 67.2%, slightly lower than the turnout in 2019. Rajasthan, another significant state in this phase, saw a turnout of 57.3%, down from the previous election.
Campaign activities have ramped up with Prime Minister Modi addressing rallies in Karnataka, and Congress leader Rahul Gandhi set to speak at events in Bihar and Uttar Pradesh.
The focus is on two major political alliances: the INDIA bloc and the NDA led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The INDIA bloc includes parties like Congress, AAP, and TMC, while the NDA comprises BJP, PMK, and JDU, among others.
Tripura led the voter turnout with nearly 80%, followed by West Bengal with over 77%. In contrast, Bihar lagged behind with less than 48% turnout.

The Election Commission’s schedule outlines the voting phases: April 26 for phase two, May 7 for phase three, May 13 for phase four, May 20 for phase five, May 25 for phase six, and June 1 for the final phase.

The NDA aims for a third term with the slogan ‘abki baar 400 paar,’ while the INDIA bloc focuses on promises such as implementing Minimum Support Price for farmers and providing financial aid to women in their election manifesto.

The NDA aims for a third consecutive term, rallying behind the slogan ‘abki baar 400 paar,’ while the INDIA bloc emphasizes commitments such as implementing Minimum Support Price for farmers and extending financial aid to women, as outlined in their election manifesto.

 As the nation eagerly awaits the final outcome, the democratic spirit continues to thrive, shaping the future of India’s governance. Vote counting will be held on June 4, 2024.

Related posts